EntrepreneurFix Is a Free Entrepreneur, Business and Start Up Forum

Connect With Other Entrepreneurs Online Today!
Dismiss Notice
Welcome to Our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

How do you make sure your employees don't steal from you?

Discussion in 'Employment and Human Resources' started by 111kg, Jan 28, 2016.

1. 111kg

111kg Entrepreneur

I'm very curious. For instance, I work at a coffee shop. The previous barrista was kicked out for stealing from the boss (both money and merchandise), but this was discovered accidentally, because there is no way of keeping track of all the things, especially in a coffee-to-go type of shop.

I too could steal small amounts of money if I wanted to without ever being caught, but I choose not to.

However, how do you make sure your employees don't steal from you?

2. Digsby Trace

Digsby Trace Entrepreneur

I always wonder how they do that because I used to work in a restaurant, my manager was very organize and count every materials that comes out of the pantry. She is also very careful with receipts and always check them at the end of the day if it corresponds to the number of items missing. But it's difficult to just accuse your staff in case something is missing so better install a hidden camera. It will cost but will prevent stealing and will save you money in the long run.
  3. djentre

djentre Entrepreneur

Well, first of all numbers don't lie. You can get a tab system going. So, anyone who comes in gets a tab or anyone who wants to buy something first places an order, gets a bill, and then gets their drinks. This way, you know how many Long Island Iced Teas were given out, and so you can easily find out how much liquor should have been used. If there is a gap between the two, well then someone has been stealing for sure.

BTW, if you think this would slow things down, places like Hard Rock Cafe in many places do exactly this kind of a thing.